Model (with relationship) databiding... Bug?

Hello all,
I’m fairly new to Livewire, so I’m not sure if it’s a bug or something that I’ve missed but I’m experiencing a rather weird behaviour with a wire:model databinding to a model propertie:

I’m editing a Comment (with a text property) which belongsTo a Post. In the component I have a public Comment $comment; and in my Blade template (in an Edit modal , actually) I have an <input wire:model="comment.text">.

Everything works fine at first: a dd($this->comment); shows 5 attributes ["id", "text", "post_id", "created_at", "updated_at"]

But as soon as I’ve modified the text and I’m trying to save that, the same dd($this->comment); now shows 6 attributes ["id", "text", "post_id", "created_at", "updated_at", "post"]. The last post attribute being an array (with all the attributes of the corresponding Post).

And when calling $this->comment->save() the app breaks on an:

Illuminate\Database\QueryException
SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error:1 no such column: post

It seems to me that wire:model messed something there, creating an attribute that shouldn’t be there (and if we were to access $comment->post, we should get a Post model and not an array anyway).

I’ve upgraded to the last version of Laravel and Livewire.

Any idea on the what or why ? Thanks in advance.

must be wire:model="comment.text", and you have to define rules() methods for the property

protected $rules = [
   'comment.text' => 'required'
];
1 Like

That was a typo on my part (that I’ve corrected, thanks!), I have, indeed wire:model="comment.text in the Blade template.

And even if I forgot to mention it, the $rules are also defined exactly as you wrote them (if not the wouldn’t be properly filled).

Unfortunately, it’s not what’s problematic in this case…

Does your Comment model eager load the Post relationship?

There is no eager loading, just a regular type hinted dependancy injection:

public function edit(Comment $comment)
{