When to use Livewire

Hey all,

I’ve been playing around a bit with Livewire and am just curious what other people’s approach is to using it. So, when do you reach for a Livewire component and when do you reach for other solutions (i.e. plain form submission, frontend framework, etc)?

A rule that I have for myself is that if I’m just showing/hiding something like a modal or form, I will reach for AlpineJS since it is going to be snappier. Also, Livewire seems perfect for things that Caleb has demoed it with, building user/post/repo searches.

The thing I get hung up the most on is, when do plain form submissions make more sense. I started playing around with creating an “Edit Profile” component that would allow you to update things like your name, phone number, etc. The further I got with making it the more I started to think that a plain form submission would be best because I would run into weird issues where the value in the rendered view would be out of sync with the value stored in the component on the backend. If I typed too fast and hit the submit button too quickly I would run into race conditions (I did fix this by adjusting debounce and using the wire:loading attribute).

Does anyone with more experience with the framework have any guidelines or best practices when determining what should be a component and how it should be implemented?

1 Like

I like it for forms minus two conditions. Mainly any kind of file upload cant be done yet to my knowledge without some creative workarounds. I use wire:model.lazy on every input that doesn’t have a keydown event on it, so pretty much anything that isn’t a search. The bug of the method that’s triggered on keydown running first before hydrating the property you tie with wire:model unfortunately still hasn’t been addressed. That might contribute to your race conditions if you are trying to use it that way.

1 Like

Thanks for the tip on using wire:model.lazy, I’m going to try that out!